Wednesday, January 25, 2012

Scary email links

Last week got an email form a friend that cc'd a responce from my mother [we're a close yet not closed network :]


Dearest Constance & Jerome
 
Thanks for the alert, although I was aware of it some time ago through Facebook Security.  I NEVER open any emails where the sender sends me just a link.  I will rather copy and paste a news article or whatever than send a link myself because I am aware of the risks.  I recently received a blank email from Jane in Australia with a link.  I know that Jane would never send me a blank email with just a link, so I deleted it.  A few days later, I received an email from Jane, asking all her contacts to delete such emails as her contact list had been invaded by some or other spam bot, so this is not just a Facebook related problem.

Because what she, via my mom who'd received it from a friend, had read namely this:

Hi Babes, Never been a fan of Face book, but after this message from Cindy - which I put on my wall, is the end of my visits to Face book. I am so petrified of my computer going wrong. So please send news and picks via my email, as I always love hearing from you. Happy day snuitebol.!!
----- Original Message -----
From: 
Sent: Friday, January 13, 2012 3:26 PM
Subject: FW:
 This is definitely true.

 PLEASE CIRCULATE THIS NOTICE TO YOUR FRIENDS, FAMILY, CONTACTS! In the coming days, you should be aware.....  
Do not open any message with an attachment called: Invitation FACEBOOK, regardless of who sent it. It is a virus that opens an Olympic torch that burns the whole hard disc C of your computer.  
This virus will be received from someone you had in your address book .. That's why you should send this message to all your contacts. It is better to receive this email 25 times to receive the virus and open it .. If you receive a mail called: Invitation FACEBOOK, though sent by a friend, do not open it and delete it immediately. It is the worst virus announced by CNN. A new virus has been discovered recently that has been classified by Microsoft as the most destructive virus ever.  
It is a Trojan Horse that asks you to install an adobe flash plug-in Once you install it, it's all over. And there is no repair yet for this kind of virus. This virus simply destroys the Zero Sector of the Hard Disc, where the vital information of their function is saved.  
  
SNOPES SAYS THIS IS TRUE............  


To which I responded with this:


Well, just saying, re. that virus message, 
the clue is on clicking the link in the message and

then authorising the installing of a plugin [anything!]
        [ie. by clicking 'ok']
                                             IS  NOT A GOOD IDEA!!!


In other words, if one were to indeed click on the link in the mailmessage, not much harm is done; the harm IS done once you've clicked the link and then click the accept buttton to install the plugin or whatever it asks you to ok//authorise.

A bit of common sense will take you a million miles travelling through the Web, much as in real life.
Trains, planes and automobiles don't kill, people's stupidities do.

ps. Mom, recall you writing about Adobe a few days ago when you had probs with my audio book to get it to open and associations in Windows. Now let me tell you, Adobe is one of the most exploited pieces of software around - it gets used by millions, is integrated into browsers, and thus a favourite for hackers to pull it apart and restructure it to their own likings and goals.

So, use a bit of common sense and enjoy the internets :-)


Thursday, February 25, 2010

¿Changed your mind?

Say you've got multiple windows open, grab an item with the intention of placing it somewhere else and somewhere along the way you change your mind yet find the initial place you grabbed the item obscured by other windows that popped to the front during the drag.
What to do?
Simply drag the item to the top left corner of the screen; the place where you grabbed the item from pops back up to the front and you can now finally let go.
Phew ;)